Trevor MoriProfessor Trevor Mori – President
University of Western Australia (WA)

Professor Trevor Mori is a medical research scientist in the School of Medicine and Pharmacology at the University of Western Australia. He holds a National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia Senior Research Fellowship. He has more than 30 years research experience in the study of nutrition, hypertension, atherosclerosis and cardiovascular disease.

Stephen NichollsProfessor Stephen Nicholls – Director – Clinical Council Chair
South Australian Health & Medical Research Institute (SA)

Stephen Nicholls is Professor of Cardiology at the University of Adelaide and the inaugural SAHMRI Heart Foundation Heart Disease Theme Leader at the South Australian Health & Medical Research Institute. He completed his medical training in Adelaide, cardiology training in Newcastle and a PhD at the Heart Research Institute. He proceeded to the Cleveland Clinic for a postdoctoral fellowship, followed by faculty appointments in the departments of Cardiovascular Medicine and Cell Biology.

He has authored more than 370 book chapters, meeting abstracts and original manuscripts and is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, ATVB and the European Journal of Preventive Cardiology. His research interests include the atheroprotective properties of HDL, development of new plaque imaging modalities and clinical trials investigating novel anti-atherosclerotic therapies

Peter MeikleAssoc. Professor Peter Meikle – Secretary
NHMRC Senior Research Fellow
Head, Metabolomics Laboratory
Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute

A/Prof Peter Meikle is Head of the Metabolomics Laboratory at Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute and a NHMRC Senior Research Fellow. He is Editor in Chief of Metabolites and holds affiliate positions at the University of Melbourne and the Monash University. The Metabolomics Laboratory has a focus on the dyslipidemia and altered lipid metabolism associated with obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disease and its relationship to the pathogenesis of these disease states. This work is leading to new approaches to early diagnosis and risk assessment as well as the development of new lipid modulating therapies for chronic disease.

Christina-BursillDr Christina Bursill – President Elect
Heart Research Institute (NSW)

Christina Bursill is the Leader of the Immunobiology Group and the Heart Research Institute. Her research focuses on understanding the vascular biological mechanisms that control atherosclerosis and associated pathologies.

Dr Natalie Ward – Treasurer
University of Western Australia (WA)

Natalie Ward completed her PhD in 2003 and was awarded the CJ Martin NH&MRC Research Fellowship. Her interests encompass hypertension and cardiovascular disease research and she is currently an Adjunct Senior Lecturer at the University of Western Australia.

Helen WilliamsHelen Williams – Membership Secretary
Westmead Hopsital (NSW)

Helen is a Senior Scientific Officer in the Department of Surgery, Westmead Hospital. Her current research aims to gain a better understanding of alterations to monocytes and macrophages in cardiovascular disease.

 B.LindaDr Belinda Di Bartolo – Editor

Belinda completed her PhD in 2009 at the Heart Research Institute in Sydney. In 2011 she was awarded an NHMRC Early Career Training Fellowship to undertake research at the Centre for Vascular Research. Belinda joined SAHMRI mid-way through 2015 as a Senior Post Doctoral Fellow and her current research interests include the effect of lipids and lipid-lowering therapies on the process of vascular calcification in heart disease and diabetes.

Dr Anna Calkin – Program Secretary
Baker IDI (VIC)

Dr Anna Calkin obtained a BSc Biomed (Honours) in Physiology from Monash University. Dr Calkin received a NHF postgraduate scholarship as the top-ranked Victorian candidate to undertake her PhD studies at the Baker Institute, exploring the molecular pathways that are modulated by commonly used agents in diabetes and dyslipidemia and how such drugs influence organs susceptible to diabetic complications.

Dr Calkin is a National Heart Foundation Future Leader Fellow and holds an adjunct lecturer position at Monash University, with teaching and lecturing roles within the Department of Physiology. Dr Calkin has over 30 publications including those in PNAS, Journal of Clinical Investigation, Nature Reviews and Circulation and ATVB. Anna has received funding from the Diabetes Australia Research Trust, CASS, NHF and NHMRC.